June 15, 2024

Rasmusson wins Senate District 9 race

Find this content useful? Share it with your friends!

By Reed Anfinson

Current State Republican Rep. Jordan Rasmusson of Fergus Falls easily won election to the new District 9 Senate seat easily defeating Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party candidate Cornell Walker. 

Write-in candidate Nathan Miller’s challenge to Rasmusson fell well short. While the majority of the write-in candidate votes listed at 3,507 on the Minnesota Secretary of State’s website might have gone to Miller, other write-in votes are included in the total. 

Candidate         Votes  Percent

Jordan Rasmusson – R   25,372                62.7%

Cornel Walker – DFL      11,560                   28.6%

Write-in                  3,507    8.67%

In February, the Minnesota Supreme Court released new state legislative district maps based on the 2020 U.S Census. It placed Rasmusson in Otter Tail County, along with Wilkin, Traverse, and Grant counties, and the western half of Douglas County in the new Senate District 9.

Rasmusson announced shortly after the new districts were drawn that he would seek the new Senate seat. Miller also joined the race. In April, Rasmusson was endorsed by the Republican Party in District 9 on the first ballot.

Find this content useful? Share it with your friends!