March 5, 2021

Grant County Herald

Community news from the prairie to the lakes

W/H-N girls basketball team hoping for winning season

BY JOHN FRAGODT

Sports Reporter

The Wheaton/Herman-Norcross girls basketball team is hoping to get back over .500 this season after going 9-17 and 10-16 overall the past two seasons.

Back to lead the team this year is head coach Darin Rinke, who has been at the helm of the girls basketball program at W/H-N since 2017-18 after taking over for Tim Gail.

The only graduate from last year’s team was Maycee Tolifson, but the Warriors return 10 of their other 11 letterwinners from last winter’s team.

W/H-N is set to open up the schedule with four-straight home games.  The Warriors open up the 2020-21 schedule Thursday, Jan. 14 at home against Hancock, followed by a home game against Sisseton, Tuesday, Jan. 19, and another home game at Herman-Norcross against Battle Lake, Thursday, Jan. 21.

Overall, the Warriors have 16 regular-season games scheduled, including eight at home.  Teams can have at most 18 games scheduled this winter during the regular-season.

W/H-N was 5-4 at one point last year before falling to 6-12 one month later.  The Warriors rebounded to go 4-4 over the remainder of the schedule.

West Central Area won last year’s Pheasant Conference title with a 7-1 league mark, while Hancock was second (6-2), CGB third (4-4), W/H-N fourth (3-5), and Ortonville fifth (0-8).

W/H-N ended the season with a 56-42 loss to Parkers Prairie in the opening round of the Section 6A Girls Basketball Tournament.

     Wheaton/H-N Girls BB 

                  2020-21

Thursday, Jan. 14 — Hancock

Tuesday, Jan. 19 — Sisseton

Thursday, Jan. 21 — Battle Lake (at H-N)

Tuesday, Jan. 26 — West Central Area

Friday, Jan. 29 — at CGB

Monday, Feb. 1 — at Ortonville

Friday, Feb. 5 — at West 

wCentral Area

Thursday, Feb. 11 — at Ashby

Friday, Feb. 12 — Ortonville

Tuesday, Feb. 16 — Bran-Evans (at H-N)

Friday, Feb. 19 — at Hancock

Tuesday, Feb. 23 — at Hillcrest

Thursday, Feb. 25 — CGB

Monday, March 1 — Pelican Rapids

Thursday, March 4 — at Breckenridge

Thursday, March 11 — at Rothsay