June 15, 2024

WCA/A/B-E wrestlers celebrate a successful season

Find this content useful? Share it with your friends!

The West Central Area/Ashby/Brandon-Evansville Knights have completed their final official 2021 business as a team with its awards banquet.

There are two team awards that stand out above all others. The first is perhaps the most important in that a smart or studious athlete is a high caliber and dangerous at his or her craft athlete. Mr. Gruchow has his stable in great working order as the team collected another Gold Standard Academic Award with a collective GPA of 3.538.

The Spotlight on Scholarship awards that represented a 3.0 GPA or better included: Carter Lohse, Adam Lohse, Ashton Danner, Reubens Swanson, Anthony Sykora, Jordan Lohse, Kade Olson, Nathaniel Kisgen, Beau Robinson, Colton Lindquist, Justin Blascyk, Brody Brunkow, Logon Long, Ezekiel Sieckert, Gavin Flint, Jeremy Blascyk, Hunter Gruchow, Will Rustan (4.0), Logan Haburn, Dierk Goeden, Blake Flint, Colin Anderson, Austin Mattson, Kjersten Nibbe (Manager), Lucea Wales (Manager), Annika Brunkow (Manager), Jaime Johnson (Manager, Terina Blascyk (Manager), and Deklin Goeden.

The second of the big team awards is for Perfect Attendance at practice. The dedication to maneuver through life and make it to commitments uninterrupted cannot be understated. The Knights list this year is quite large and includes: Jordan Lohse, Nathaniel Kisgen, Colton Lindquist, Justin Blascyk, Anthony Sykora, Solomon Wales, Will Rustan, Carter Lohse, Adam Lohse, Hunter Gruchow, Jeremy Blascyk, Ezekiel Sieckert, and Kade Olson.

Letter-winners for the ‘21 season and years lettered include: Dierk Goeden (2), Kjersten Nibbe (5), Jeremy Blascyk (2), Nathaniel Kisgen (4, 2 with WCAABE), Justin Blascyk (2), Jaime Johnson (3), Anthony Sykora (5), Ashton Danner (3), Ezekiel Sieckert (1), Kade Olson (4), Solomon Wales (3), Colton Lindquist (3), Reubens Swanson (5), Hunter Gruchow (2), Adam Lohse (3), Beau Robinson (1), Grant Lindquist (1), Terina Blascyk (1), Lucea Wales (2), Jordan Lohse (5), Mason Richter (1), Deklin Goeden (3), Austin Mattson (4), Carter Lohse (1).

Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association Awards:

100 Win Patch: Nathaniel Kisgen 128 career wins, Anthony Sykora 128

150 Win Patch: Jordan Lohse 178 career wins

50 Pins: Jordan Lohse 81 career pins, Nathaniel Kisgen 79, Anthony Sykora 67

25 Pins: Colton Lindquist 45 career pins, Adam Lohse 38, Kade Olson 33, Ashton Danner 29, Austin Mattson 25, Solomon Wales 25

Park Region All Conference and Wrestlers: Reubens Swanson, Jordan Lohse, Anthony Sykora, Nathaniel Kisgen, Colton Lindquist

State-Prelim Participants: Adam Lohse (120), Solomon Wales (126), Reubens Swanson (145), Jordan Lohse (152), Anthony Sykora (160), Nathaniel Kisgen (182), Colton Lindquist (220), Justin Blascyk (285)

All-State Participants and placing: Reubens Swanson (6th), Jordan Lohse (5th), Anthony Sykora (5th), Nathaniel Kisgen (3rd), Colton Lindquist (6th)

Team Awards:

Most Valuable Wrestler: Nathaniel Kisgen

Hardest Worker: Jordan Lohse

Most Improved: Beau Robinson

Team Spirit Award: Jeremy Blascyk

Rookie Award: Ezekiel Sieckert

JV Most Valuable Wrestler: Will Rustan

JV Hardest Worker: Brody Brunkow

JV Most Improved: Jacob Schaffran

Most Valuable Manager: Kjersten Nibbe

Most Dedicated Fan: Joyce Hanson

Exiting Seniors: Austin Mattson, Nathaniel Kisgen, Jordan Lohse, Kade Olson, Trent Koloski, Deklin Goeden

Top 5 Statistical Leaders for ‘21 Season:

Wins: A. Sykora (35), J. Lohse (34), C. Lindquist (34), N. Kisgen (32), A. Lohse (23)

Win Percentage: A. Sykora (.92), J. Lohse (.89), N. Kisgen (.86), C. Lindquist (.82), R. Swanson (.76)

Falls: N. Kisgen (21). C. Lindquist (17), A. Sykora (15), A. Lohse (1), J. Lohse (14)

Tech Falls: A. Sykora (5), R. Swanson (2), N. Kisgen (1), A. Lohse (1), J. Lohse (1), S. Wales (1)

Major Decisions: A. Sykora (4), K. Olson (2), S. Wales (2), A. Lohse (1), A. Danner (1), N. Kisgen (1)

Take Downs: A. Sykora (63), J. Lohse (60), R. Swanson (48), N. Kisgen (44), C. Lindquist (36)

Escapes: C. Lindquist (29), B. Robinson (26), J. Lohse (20), R. Swanson (17), A. Danner (14)

Reversals: A. Sykora (11), K. Olson 10, S. Wales (8), C. Lohse (7), A. Mattson (4), N. Kisgen (4), R. Swanson (4), B. Robinson (4)

2pt Near Falls: A. Sykora (34), N. Kisgen (8), S. Wales (6), A. Lohse (5), A. Danner (5), R. Swanson (5)

3pt Near Falls: A. Sykora (19), N. Kisgen (15), S. Wales (12), J. Lohse (11), C. Lohse (6

Find this content useful? Share it with your friends!